Confidence, Girl, Lifestyle, medicine, science, STEM, Technology, Uncategorized

I Aspire To Be A…

Good morning fems! Luna here! So today’s post will be my process in figuring out that I wanted to be a doctor. Let me just start by throwing a disclaimer: I am in high school so there is a chance that I may not end up being a doctor or I will change my mind. With that out of the way let us turn back time to when I was in first grade. In our class, we had an assignment where we could choose to be a doctor, florist or firefighter. Out of those three, I chose to be a doctor, and I ran home and excitedly told my parents I wanted to be a doctor as an adult. Well…as expected with all things young children take an interest to, after a couple of months–I mean weeks, I had discarded the dream of becoming a doctor.

 

via

 

After that for a period of 2 years, I wanted to be a restaurateur, and I planned out what type of food I would serve and how my restaurant would look. I would tell my sister potential restaurant names (which I know look back and think how stupid they were) and talk about how I would be world famous and have my own cooking show. Though this phase ended in fifth grade, I still love to cook, and I love to try new recipes from different cultures. Recently, I made these delicious fudge brownies that may or may not be in an upcoming post *wink wink*. 

 

via

 

The next phase after that was my favorite one…wedding planning!! From the short period of 6th to 7th grade I wanted to be a wedding planner. And when I say I wanted to be a wedding planner I went in deep. I signed up for theknot.com and pretended to be getting married in August of 2016 (unfortunately my account was terminated after my “wedding”), I had a notebook where I planned out weddings, and I was a constant lurker on r/weddingplanning (I still visit that thread every day…is that bad?). However, my wedding planner dreams came to a hard stop, when my parents told me that it was stupid, I would never get any money, and I would starve to death (but in nicer words).

 

via

 

My sister had always been interested in being a doctor, so I decided to look into that career to see what it was really like. First, I dabbled in gastroenterology buuuuut I did not like it at all. I hopped from speciality to specialty until I found one that I loved…cardiology. I love the human heart, and I find it so interesting how a muscle about the size of your fist keeps your body pumping. I read up so much about the human heart, that when we got to the cardiovascular system in my science class, I knew more about the heart than my 7th-grade science teacher and I helped teach and explains some portions of class. I just love medicine so much, and I follow various medschool vloggers on Youtube and seeing their journey makes me all the more excited to start mine! 

 

via

 

Not only do I enjoy science, I love business and I like to be in charge, so if I were to succeed in being a noninvasive cardiologist I would want to have a clinic. I can see you guys giving me a judging look through the screen; I agree these are lofty dreams for a highschooler, but hey a girl can dream? Though, now I know that my path is in STEM, I still took pieces from my other interests which are what make me the person I am today. I love to travel, I love makeup, I love to eat (who doesn’t), I love weddings (which is a little weird) and I love STEM. These are the things that make me who I am. What were your guys’ dream jobs when you were younger? Let me know in the comments down below.

Sending virtual hugs your way,

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 11.56.42 PMLuna

*I have no ownership of any of the images used, including the feature image.

16 thoughts on “I Aspire To Be A…”

  1. I am the same way! I even wanted to be a wedding planner, it’s funny how much life can change but I loved reading about your dreams! Go get it girl!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. No judging glances at all – i love how you shared your journey here and how specific you are in your dreaming – not just doctor but noninvasive cardiologist [i may have had to use the Google] – so good for you and so what if it doesn’t happen – dreaming helps to keep you motivated along the way and it sounds like you have had some fun ones and maybe all the dreaming and exploring of the different career paths will help you eliminate all the wrong ones and lead you to what you eventually become – although to be honest i’m looking forward to the fudge brownies recipe so don’t give up on that career just yet…

    All the best
    love brett fish

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Noninvasive cardiology is a speciality that isn’t well known so I get a lot of confused looks about it. Those fudge brownies are coming right up haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg I’m the same! Although your dreams all seemed be at least possible! Mine were more along the lines of wanting to be a rockstar guitarist with 0 music lessons or wanting to be a famous Hollywood actress with 0 classes taken (and living in Australia lol).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. When I was a kid I wanted to be a marine biologist, because I thought you got to live on a boat and go diving all day and I grew up in a city miles from the sea so that seemed amazing to me! Unfortunately biology classes involved cutting up heats and kidneys and stuff that made me feel ill, so I had to drop that – hope you don’t find a similar problem!
    But I loved learning and wanted to learn everything ever, so I studied Physics and now I’m an Astrophysics researcher!
    Btw, looking forward to that brownie recipe 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Good for you! You can be anything you want as long as you continue to work hard and believe in yourself. This is what I tell my kindergarteners every day. I’m a teacher. While growing up I wanted to be a famous journalist, I somehow took a turn and fell in love with working with kids. Most rewarding experience. 🙂
    https://katiewalsh.blog/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Luna,
    It’s really good that you already know what you would like to do after your schooling. At your age I had no idea. When i was in primary school I wanted to be a teacher or look after little children and this was the kind of idea that stuck with me. I ended up starting out as a nursery teacher then a children’s nanny – but after a good few years I realised it wasn’t what I wanted to do forever. I now work in learning disability and although I love it, it still isn’t what I want to do forever. I’m still searching for that. I believe these things were actually preparing me for motherhood and as it turned out that my son ended up having autism so both choices were very relevant to my future! Keep that in mind – one day your wedding planning may come in useful!

    Tallulah x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

